Unification of Italy through March 24, 1860

Territorial Changes 1859-1860:

Aug.-Sept. 1859: In Parma, Modena, Tuscany, and the Romagna, representative assemblies
                       deposed their rulers and called for annexation by Piedmont

10 Nov. 1859: Treaty of Zurich transfers Lombardy to Piedmont as indicated in the armistice
                      of Villafranca

13-15 Mar. 1860: Plebiscites in Parma, Modena, Tuscany, and the Romagna call for 
                      annexation to Piedmont

24 Mar. 1860: Treaty of Turin (France and Piedmont) transfers Nice and Savoy to France
Back to Introduction To Map of 1861  Back to Syllabus